Let’s Be Real

If you are anything like me you admire, ok ,lust after the pristinely decorated homes you see in magazines,House Beautiful, Traditional Home, Cottage Living , Dwell to name a few. Then there are the HGTV homes many of which we could only dream to live in. I have also covetted many beautiful homes online that are amazing but not in my budget or realm of reality. Therefore I would like to address home decor ideas for the ‘rest’ of us. Those of us who while we admire great taste and design are not willing to forfiet all our hard earned dollars on a home alone. We have family and life that demands us to be somewhat practical. That’s where I come in.

So let’s be thankful for what we have and make the best of it. We can make changes to enhance our home as we can and enjoy it in the process.

To start with today I will be REAL and share one of our living spaces, the family room. It is open to our kitchen and breakfast nook and seems to be where we spend most of our time. Even though we have a living room, and it too is fairly casual , we linger in here because the kitchen is the hub and the fireplace is cozy this time of year.

I , like many of you, have just transitioned from Christmas decorating and need to add something, but I am not quite ready for spring decor. A quick trip to Marshall’s and gathering some things out of my decorating closet (yes I have one), and this is what it looks like today.

This is how it looks today , but once I am ready for a spring look I will change things up a bit.I love to use fruit to decorate with, and yes it is REAL,no plastic food allowed here. It is not expensive and we eat it eventually or little kids can bit into it and it is actually encouraged.

Let me challenge you to keep  your home REAL and enjoy the process of making your house a home.

Tomorrow : How to create the picture wall display in my family room.

Have a great Tuesday!

Linda

3 thoughts on “Let’s Be Real

Leave a Reply

