My Bed Obsession Confession

I admit it, I have a ‘thing’ about how my bed is made. It may change throughout the seasons but a few critical requirements are still of importance to me.

#1 Crisp clean sheets. Must be changed weekly. Costco has some nice high thread count sateen sheets that wash up beautiful and are very luxurious at a great price.

#2 Feather bed on top of mattress for that sinking into the “nest” feeling. Must also be fluffed weekly.

#3 Duvet or Coverlet must be equally draped on both sides of the bed. When the down comforter is on any lumps in the feather bunching needs to be evened out. ( or at least not too lumpy)

#4There is an order to the pillows. However since I change that frequently it depends on the linens I am using at the moment.

#5 The  quilt at the base of the bed needs to be placed to hang equally on both sides.

I know this is self-imposed order, but it makes me happy. My husband knows this and can make the bed to my standards everytime. Well he has learned how I like it and on a Sunday morning when I am crunched for time getting ready for church the sweet man does his best to make it ‘just so’. We’ve been married for 34 years so he know me well.

Besides the way I make the bed on daily basis I also change the look of it with just a few minor adjustment.  The picture above is how it looks at the moment, however with a change of pillows and losing the feather comforter for the warmer months it takes on a fresh look often.

Sometimes I just change the pillows and the throw.

It has been a process through the years…..

These last pictures are taken years ago and I must admit I like it so much better now.

I thought I also had other pictures of what I do for the summer, but can’t seem to find them. I will share when I freshen it up for warmer weather.

So how do you make up your bed? Pottery Barn layers and  turned down duvet? Or old school bedspread up to the head board and pillows laying flat? Or do you bother to make it at all?

I have to make it every morning, it is like brushing my teeth to me. We all have our ‘things’, this just happen’s to be one of mine.

Have a great Monday ! And “GO MAKE YOUR BED!

Linda

Leave a Reply

