Lamps Shades and Tulips

After posting about my need to have my bed made daily and how my bedroom has transformed over time, I am already considering a minor change.

I have been loving the look of burlap lamps shades I have seen lately. They have a current but cottage-like feel and seem to really go well with a formal lamp base such as mercury glass or crystal. I like mixing the formal or traditional with casual relaxed style.

Pottery Barn has some great ones and I have been tempted to purchase.Burlap Tapered Drum Lamp Shade

However I have a tendency to love the look but think I can do it for less money.

Yesterday I stopped by World Market and in my wandering through the store noticed they had some burlap shades as well for less than half the price. Not quite as well made as Pottery Barn but since I was using them in my bedroom and I just wanted the ‘look’, I brought them home to try. Now I am trying to decide but I think I like them and they lighten up the look for Spring. Only thing I don’t like is that at night you can see the light bulb when the lamp is on. Since that only happens when we are reading in bed I think I can live with that. The plastic is still on the shade until I make my final decision but at $19 vs $49 I think I just might keep them. What do you think?

   Burlap Shade                                                                                    Brown Silk Shade

I love tulips and since Spring is few months away they aren’t blooming in my yard yet. However they are everywhere in the grocery stores and this makes me so happy. I think they brighten a room and add a pop of color. I love them in red, white, yellow, pink, I love them all! So my house has them tucked here and there and they just give me joy. For $6.99 that’s a cheap mood booster.

Have a blessed Wednesday!

Linda

One thought on “Lamps Shades and Tulips

Leave a Reply

