Chalkboards

Chalkboards are everywhere lately, Pinterest, home decor stores and at my house.

Finished making the ones I had started last Saturday and got them in the frames today. I think I am addicted to chalkboard-ifing everything.

I started with an old picture frame and a mirror frame that the mirror broke out of. That’s a long story, let’s just say it has something to do with an earth quake and my husband trying to get the mirror back into the frame, it didn’t turn out so well. So I saved the silver frame and now have a new use for it.

Here is what I used:

Spray primer

Spray chalkboard paint

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Massonite cut to fit the frames I had. Home Depot and Lowe’s are happy to cut it for you if you know the size you need. They will even cut it whatever size so you can get it in your car and you can cut it more exact later.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chalk of course. I used regular old crayola school chalk to season the board after it has been painted.

And a frame to finish it off.

Here are a few pictures of the process.

2 coats of primer . I had issues with this particular primer could have been operator error , but I would use a different one next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 2 coats of chalboard paint ( could do 3), apply in a well ventilated area, garage or outside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After they are dry you must season the surface by going over the whole board with chalk and then wiping it off.

Place in the frames and you are done!

 

 

 

 

Now I want to make all kinds of things into chalkboards.

courage #inspiration #courage 

Since I was in the chalkboard mood I redid my mantel already. I think that’s enough for today 🙂

One thought on “Chalkboards

Leave a Reply

