Spring Mantel

While the calendar indicates tomorrow is the first day of Spring , I have been in Spring-mode for the past month. Unfortunately the weather here has not been reflecting the change of season as much as one would have hoped for by now. Still I try to tell myself anyday now it will be above 60 degrees and NOT snowing.

So I will keep Springifying the inside of my home while I wait for warmer days to work outside.

Layla over at http://theletteredcottage.net/ is planning to host a link party for Spring mantel makeovers beginning tomorrow. http://theletteredcottage.net/spring-fling-link-parties/

I had decorated mine a few weeks ago when I finished painting the chalkboards. It remains neutral in it’s color scheme but fits the rest of the room’s decor.

Since I have the mirror over the mantel I don’t feel the need to over accessorize, but love to change to reflect the seasons or a special event by adding a few things. Also having a mirror there means when I try to photograph my mantel, if I the shot isn’t from just the right angle you get to see my kitchen and whatever happens to be laying out on the counter..oops. That happened more times than I care to admit.

Here are some of the other options for the mantel I experimented with:

Either way it looks much better in reality than it photographs.

This weekend between rain showers I moved the flower cart to the greenhouse and redid the entry.. Again.  Yes it’s been said I have “Obsessive Compulsive Decorating”, OCD sort of. I worked in a couseling office recently and a pyschiatrist , whom is now a sweet friend, and I decided this must be my condition. I can live with that. I even had to fluff the waiting room pillows when I was there to redecorate her office.

Anyway…. here is the flower cart in the greenhouse:

And the entry.. for the moment:

More indoor Springyness:

Signs that Spring is tying to manifest itself around here:

Be sure to check out all the Spring mantel ideas over at http://theletteredcottage.net/ tomorrow.

Happy last day of Winter! Whoo Hoo!

Linda

The Lettered Cottage

2 thoughts on “Spring Mantel

Leave a Reply

