Mini Easter Eggs Craft

This last week I was adding a few Easter touches to the house. I wanted some small blue eggs and couldn’t find any at the craft store or Target. They were all pastel or sparkly and there isn’t a Pottery Barn near by, closest one is 60 miles away. Besides I wanted it to be very inexpensive and quick.

I ended up picking up some polymer clay at Michael’s ,

blue and ivory, as well as some burnt umber acrylic paint.

I then formed small eggs shapes out of each color and blended some of the blue and white together to get even a lighter shade. I have seen some amazing polymer clay art and jewelry and my creation looked like child’s play but I wasn’t going for any grand , just eggs.

After forming them I baked them according to the directions on the package of clay. 275 degrees and since they were thicker than 1/4 ” I kept checking them every 10 minutes until they seemed to be set, took about an hour.

After they cooled I mixed the burnt umber paint with a small amount of water to thin it down. Then using a tooth brush splatter painted the eggs. Let them dry and Ta-Da , mini speckled eggs.

So easy you could do it with children . I imagine their little fingers may even make cuter ones.

Speaking of children… I snapped a few photos of my youngest grand-daughter this weekend. She melts my heart!

Make the most of your Monday!

Linda

linking to : http://dearlillieblog.blogspot.com/2012/04/Easter-Link-party.html

4 thoughts on “Mini Easter Eggs Craft

  1. they turned out great!
    I make my own eggs too, but with salt dough, and only about 1/4″ big. (to go in my tiny hand made bird nests)
    I did not think to try larger, and right now I’m having trouble finding 1/2″
    So guess that will be one of my projects too.

Leave a Reply

