It’s a TWO-fer

I am posting twice today since it’s been so long and I actually have time today to share.

Speaking of TWO , my little grandson Asher turns 2 this weekend and we are celebrating with the family at our house. My daughter is super clever and makes the sweetest cards and invitations and sent us one announcing it will be a pirate theme. She will be bring all the decorations and most of the food for our crowd. Thanks to pinterest, ideas are numerous and there is inspiration for just about any theme you’re looking for. I hope to share pictures from the party but for know I will show my little contribution to the festivities.

In my quest to help set the mood, I thought I would try a rope craft/ knot to the mix of nautical items. I bring out beach theme decor around Father’s day so I was thinking of this project for next month, but decided to practice for the’ pirate party’.

It’s called a Monkey Fist Knot and I noticed it used in a Ballard Design catalog for a door stopper. It is listed in their catalog for $45, I think this girl can do it for less.

I went on YouTube , where they have a video for just about anything and low and behold there were multiple to chose from.

I purchased some 3/8″ rope ,50′ was around $8.00, I could probably make 2 or 3 from that at least. Found a tennis ball lying around and cut a small slit in it and filled it with pebbles. If you want to make it heavier , and I may next time, I will use buck shot or BB’s for weight.

Here are the written instructions:

 

You insert the ball before you start tighting down all the loops. BE PATIENT, it takes a little while and a few tries. I am still perfecting my own technique.

Here is the YouTube video as well,  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXdHcH3FRcM that worked better for me, but my husband liked the picture instructions best.

I will be trying this again and making it heavier, but not bad for a first attempt. I have to thank my husband for all his help , my little hands were struggling to pull it tight enough. I will give it another shot on my own soon.

What else can I make with $8 of rope? Hmmmm, I feel another project coming on.

Linda

linking to : http://micheleravendesigns.blogspot.com/micheleravendesigns.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

