Rolled Paper Flowers

This weekend I am co-hostessing a baby shower at my home and I have been fussing with the decorations. I have chalkboards and mason jars,along with fresh flowers and such. I am still gathering the details together and hope to share photos when it is all set up and ready for Saturday.

In the meantime I played around with an idea of using some of my birch branches and paper flowers. It may lay on the food table or lean up against the wall behind it. That is still to be determined. Around here you can’t finalize your plans until the morning of, because the weather is so unpredictable.

I know rolled paper flowers aren’t a new concept, but I thought I would share my take on the idea for those of you who haven’t done it before.

You will need :

Scrap book paper ( 2 sided works the best, but I used what I had on had for this project)

scissors

hot glue

That’s it! You probably have all that on hand.

Instructions: Cut out a circle any size you like, I cut it about 8″ in diameter. I did it free hand but you could trace around a bowl if you’d prefer.

I then drew a spiral wavey line to cut along. I also freehand that but wanted to show it what I meant.

Then just cut along your line or freehand it in a wavey spiral.

Then begin rolling from the outside end.

You can adjust the size of your flower by letting the tension from rolling a bit. Looser the twist the bigger the blossom.Then hot glue to the last bit of the paper in the center.

Add a leaf if you’d like, and optional button or jewel in the center.

 

I then attached them to the birch branch. I have glued floral wire on them before and wrapped with floral tape to make a bouquet, equally cute.

Hopefully it will all come together for the shower on Saturday, and we are praying for sunshine so we can celebrate outside.

I’ll let you know how it all turns out .

Linda

 Linking up with

4 thoughts on “Rolled Paper Flowers

Leave a Reply

