Porch Columns Update

I am finally getting around to posting about our one of many “To Do’s” for Spring. It was a “To Do” even if somebody else did it, I still get to check it off the list.

Last week the porch columns were remodeled and are awaiting painting. They look so much better now. They are more in scale with the stonework and the front of our home. The craftsman did a great job and as soon as the days are a tad bit warmer and a bit less rainy they will get painted.

DSC_0009

Before :DSC_0085 DSC_0086 DSC_0073

After:

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0009

The funny thing was as much as I felt they needed a makeover, none of my friends even noticed them. They couldn’t remember what they looked like before and walked right by them and didn’t notice the improvement. So I guess that goes to show you what you think is so noticeable and need of a change, sometimes isn’t even observed by others. So unless you want to change it because it makes a difference to you (which to me it did) it may not be all that big of a change for the money. Oh well I like it so much better and I think when you compare the before and after , it is more obvious an improvement.  What do you think?

Have you ever had that experience when you did something you thought made a great improvement and yet nobody really noticed?

Well on to the next item on the list of “To Do’s”.

Linda

UPDATE ! THEY ARE PAINTED!

DSC_0050 DSC_0051 DSC_0053

7 thoughts on “Porch Columns Update

  1. I visited our house the day they built the columns and saw them and thought they were too beefy and fat but in the end, they were right. They look fine. I like you’re better ‘after.’

  2. Linda,
    I ran across your blog randomly while looking for ways to spruce up my columns…and now I am making my way through many of your posts. You have great style and some really fun ideas. So THANKS from me, a 31 year old mom of two living smack dab in the middle of Silicon Valley. Btw- where do you live? By the pictures I imagine somewhere lush and green and beautiful like Oregon. Keep posting- I appreciate the creative inspiration.
    Best,
    Heidi

    • Hi Heidi,
      So fun when someone new finds my blog !
      I live in Western Washingon and you are right about it being lush and green.
      Today was Easter and it was almost 72 degrees and for us that was glorious
      as it was warmer than usual for the end of March.
      I have a passion for helping young moms make their house a home and doing it with fun and flare on a budget.
      Thanks for following me on my blog.

      Linda

      • Linda.. I love your front porch with the lanterns, urn and sign… where did you get your wreath hanger and how tall is it? I tried to duplicate this idea but can’t seem to find a wreath holder tall enough.. My friend found it on Pintrest and emailed it to me.. I just love it and now follow your blog – Love your style!
        Thanks,
        Dana

      • Hi Dana,
        So happy to have you following me 🙂
        I found the wreath hanger at Target a few years ago.
        I think they still carry them in the Smith and Hawkins section of the store.
        It is adjustable in height.
        Have a great day,
        Linda

Leave a Reply

